In Florida, you are legally required to have auto insurance on your vehicle if you are going to be operating it. Not only is this a legal requirement but you can also get a ticket and get some other penalties if you do not have auto insurance. However, you do not have to pay full price for your auto insurance if you take the right steps for a discount and meet the qualifications. There is one discount, the mature driver discount, that can help older drivers save some money on your auto insurance for three years at a time.
What is the Mature Driver Discount?
One of the great benefits of living in Florida is that you can get the mature driver discount and save money on your auto insurance as a result. This is something that you must be at least 55 years or older to qualify for in most cases but there may be some exceptions to this. To determine if this is something you can benefit from at a younger age, it is always a good idea to ask your insurance provider. Some companies may start allowing this discount at the age of 50 instead of 55 so it is worth asking about.
To get the discount, you will need to take an online traffic course and pass. Once you do this, you are eligible for a 10% savings on your auto insurance for 3 years. You do not have to wait to be pulled over by an empathic officer. Most people save at least $100 per year because of this discount which is why it is a good option for people looking to save money. The course is a six-hour motor accident prevention course and is one that is approved by the state. There is a Florida law (627.0652) which orders insurance companies to give this discount to drivers that are at least 55 or older for three years upon the completion of this course.
What is Discounted?
Not only is it a good idea to know that this is an option for you, but it is also good to know what you can really expect in terms of your discount. The 10% discount is applied to the liability, personal injury, and collision aspects of your policy. These components of your policy tend to make up approximately 70 to 85 percent of your overall bill every month. You will not get a discount on your comprehensive coverage or uninsured motorist coverage. Because of this, it is a good idea to look at your policy breakdown, so you can really know what to expect when your discount is added to your bill. It is also important to note that your deduction will be valid for 3 years unless you are in an accident where you are determined to be at fault or have not been convicted of plead guilty to a moving violation during that time. However, if this does happen during that time, you can go back and take the course again to maintain your discount.
If you are looking to save some money on your auto insurance, one favorable option is taking an online course. You want to find the best traffic school online that offers a lot of benefits, like being able to take the course from the comfort of your home and being able to stop and start it again whenever you feel like you need a break. Consider taking traffic school by IMPROV® course today so you can get your discount on auto insurance as soon as possible.